December 16, 2019

Yellowhead County Mayor Elected

On December 16, 2019, residents voted Jim Eglinski as the new mayor for Yellowhead County.

Eglinski will be sworn in at the Yellowhead County office on Tuesday, January 14, 2020. After polls closed throughout Yellowhead County at 8:00 p.m. on December 16, votes from the day were combined with advanced polling and special ballot results.

In this election, only the mayoral position was vacant. Six candidates put their names forward to fill the post of Yellowhead County’s mayor.

Following voter totals, Yellowhead County’s new mayor is Jim Eglinski.

The unofficial results are as follows (in total, 1800 ballots were cast):

Jim Eglinski – 948 Votes
Doug Elzinga – 310 Votes
Wayne Murphy – 278 Votes
Jack Williams – 159 Votes
Gloria MacDonald – 77 Votes
Fred Glober – 28 Votes

Yellowhead County would like to thank all candidates for putting their name forward in service of this municipality.

The newly elected mayor will be officially sworn in on January 14, 2020.

The mayoral by-election was held to replace past mayor Gerald Soroka, who stepped down to run in the federal election this past fall.